The Commission is a body corporate established by virtue of the Public Utilities Commission Act No. 26 of 1990 which came into effect on the 1st October, 1990. This Act was amended in 1991, 1994 and in 1999. The Commission is at present operating under Act No. 10 of 1999 which came into force on the 1st October 1999.

The Commission presently consists of a Chairman, who is a full time official, and three other Commissioners, who are appointed and serve on a part-time basis. There is provision (section 5 of the Act) for the appointment of four Commissioners, but the Commission does not at this time see the need for the appointment of a fourth Commissioner.

The present composition of the Commission is as follows:
  • Ms. Dela Britton                    -     Chairperson
  • Mr. Maurice Solomon             -     Member
  • Mr. Rajendra Bisessar            -     Member
The Public Utilities Commission
To ensure that regulated utilities offer an efficient service to consumers at a reasonable cost.

To create an environment in which there is universal access to service in the public sector, as well as high qualities of services which are cost effective and beneficial to all stakeholders.

  • To establish and enforce rules and procedures for the regulation of public utilities, commensurate with internationally accepted regulatory standards.
  • To promote and regulate the efficient long-term provision of utility services for national development consistent with Government policy.
  • To provide a fair environment conducive to business interest, investment in the public utilities sector, and the interest of consumers.
  • To investigate and seek to resolve in a timely manner complaints filed with the Commission against any public utility.
  • To carry out its functions in a fair, transparent and independent manner.