Chairman and Commissioners

Section 5 of the PUC Act states that there shall be a Chairman, and four other members appointed by the Minister. They are to be of high character and integrity and are to be qualified as having had extensive and relevant professional expertise in trade, finance, economics, law, accounting, engineering or business management or extensive experience in matters relevant to the functions of the Commission.

Conflict of Interest

A member appointed should hold no conflict-of-interest position and shall disclose same to the Commission. A member is also prohibited from accepting employment with any public utility for a period of two years after ceasing to be a member of the Commission.

Meetings/Public Hearings

Meetings and public hearings require the attendance of all members, and the statutory quorum is set at three for the duration of the forum.

The Commission's quasi-judicial standing - Orders issued give the weight of a High Court Order and are subject to appeal to a court of higher jurisdiction (i.e. Court of Appeal) and the final appellate Court, the CCJ.



Mr. Joseph Tyndall, CCH

The first Chairman of the Commission, Mr. Joseph Tyndall, CCH, was appointed on March 14, 1991, together with the members by the then Deputy Prime Minister (Public Utilities) R.H. O. Corbin.

Mr. Tyndall, a former Secretary-General of the CARICOM, was a dedicated public service official, serving as Minister of Trade and Industry and Minister of Agriculture and as Secretary, Bank of Guyana prior to joining the Commission.

Members-

Mr. John Willems, AA
Mr. Hugh K. George
Mr. Errol Hanoman
Mr. A.M.B Sankies

Mr. Pamadath J. Menon, AA

Mr. Pamadath J. Menon succeeded Mr. Tyndall as Chairman of the Public Utilities Commission on March 14, 1994. He was appointed by the then Minister of Trade, Industry and Tourism, Mr. Shree Chan

Mr. Menon, former Assistant Attorney General, who had been awarded the Honorary Golden Arrow of Achievement for outstanding and dedicated service beyond the normal call of duty in all areas of law, particularly legislative drafting.

Members– Mr. John Willems, AA Mr. Hugh K. George Mr. Errol Hanoman Mr. A.M.B Sankies



Mr. Chandraballi Bisheswar and Mr. Badrie Persaud replaced Mr. Hanoman and Mr. Sankies in 1997 under Mr. Menon's tenureship.



Justice Prem Persaud, CCH

Justice Persaud was appointed Chairman of the PUC on July 1, 2000, by the then Honourable Prime Minister Samuel Hinds.

He served nearly 60 years in the Public Service and the legal fraternity of Guyana serving as a High Court Judge and Justice of Appeal. He had also served brief stint as Chief Justice. Justice Persaud was also the longest serving magistrate in the British Commonwealth.

Members: Mr. John Willems, AA Mr. Hugh K. George Mr. Chandraballi Bisheswar Mr. Badrie Persaud

Mr. John Ceasar and Mr. Maurice Solomon joined the Commission in 2003 to serve alongside Mr. Badri Persaud.

In the latter part of 2015, Mr. Rajendra Bisessar and Ms. Dela Britton joined the PUC as Commissioners serving alongside Mr. Solomon and Mr. Persaud.



Ms. Dela A. Britton

Ms. Dela Britton was appointed Chairman on June 17, 2017 by the then President of Guyana, His Excellency Brigadier David Granger.

Ms. Britton is a University of West Indies alumnus with over 27 years' experience as a practicing attorney and Mediator Consultant in both Guyana and New York, USA.

She is also the Managing Partner of Britton, Hamilton & Adams, one of the oldest and longestablished law firms in Guyana,

Members: Mr. Rajendra Bissesar Mr. Maurice Solomon

Mr. Solomon tenure with the Commission ended in 2019.

Dr. Leyland Lucas and Ms. Verlyn Klass were appointed in May 2019 as Commissioners together with Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul who was appointed in May 2021.

Mr. Maurice Solomon was subsequently reappointed in January 2023 serving alongside Mr. Bissesar, Ms. Klass and Dr. Gopaul.

Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul

Dr. Nanda K. Gopaul was appointed on August 5, 2024, by His Excellency Dr. Irfaan Ali, President of Guyana and is the current Chairman of the PUC.

Dr. Gopaul is a founder member of the Federation of Independent Trade Unions of Guyana (FITUG) and has been a Trade Union Activist for over 40 years. He previously served as the Minister of Labour for the Cooperative Republic of Guyana.

Members: Mr. Rajendra Bissesar Ms. Verlyn Klass Mr. Maurice Solomon

